LT Faculty and Students present at AERA in Chicago

Last week ten representatives from the Learning Technologies program attended the American Educational Research Association’s annual meeting (AERA). The group was busy presenting posters, papers, and roundtable discussions; presenting at special interest group (SIG) meetings; and, for some, attending their first AERA annual meeting. Dr. Bodong...

Read More
singapore copy

Doering speaks to Singapore school leaders

LTML director Doering recently presented virtually to school leaders throughout Singapore as part of a conference on networked online learning. His presentation focused on innovative practices in the design and development of online learning environments. While discussing concepts ranging from how students best learn to...

Read More
Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 10.18.57 AM

LT Student Spotlight: Ashley Tensen

Learning Technologies (LT) is pleased to spotlight Ashley Tensen, a student in the Learning Technologies (LT) program for additional Minnesota teaching licensure in K-12 Teachers of Computer Keyboarding and Related Technology Applications. Tell us a bit about yourself… I am currently enjoying my first year...

Read More

New publication by LT doctoral student, Lynnea West

Lynnea West, an LT PhD student who is also an i-Learn Specialist for Eden Prairie Schools, has published an article entitled, “A New, Dynamic Literacy Framework to Accelerate Literacy Learning" in the Literacy Special Interest journal. West’s framework “guides the use of new digital tools for...

Read More

LT’s Dr. Angel Pazurek presents at ACPA

LT's Dr. Angel Pazurek presented last week at the annual convention of the American College Personnel Association in Tampa, Florida. ACPA is a professional organization for student affairs and student development professionals in higher education. This year's convention theme was "Consider - Collaborate - Create...

Read More
Marni copy

LT Student Spotlight: Marni Ginther

Learning Technologies (LT) is pleased to spotlight Marni Ginther, teacher candidate in the Second Languages and Cultures program in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction. Marni stood out this past summer when she was a student in the Technology for Teaching and Learning course offered...

Read More

LT @ SITE Conference 2015

Two LT student researchers, one LT faculty member, and four LTML district partners presented at the 2015 Society for Information Technology and Teacher Education (SITE) Conference this past week in Las Vegas, Nevada. SITE is an international conference organized by the Association for the...

Read More

Legacy magazine features Earthducation in cover article

The University of Minnesota Foundation's Legacy magazine has featured LTML director Aaron Doering's Earthducation project as its cover story for its winter 2015 issue. The article has also been spotlighted by the University of Minnesota on its website homepage. Stories of Change, looks back on...

Read More

Congrats to the new Dr. Kashif Asdi, LT PhD grad!

Congrats to the new Dr. Kashif Asdi! Kashif's dissertation title is "Learner Characteristics as Early Predictor of Persistence in Online Courses." A description of his dissertation is below. Dr. Asdi has more than 20 years of experience in academic innovation, training and development, and performance-improvement....

Read More
Fan Ouyang

LT Feature Student: Fan Ouyang

Background and Current Interests: I am a second-year PhD student in the Learning Technologies program. My research centers on emerging educational and learning technologies and online social learning. My current research project focuses on adopting mixed-methods to explore students' online learning processes in order to...

Read More

Fantastic LT Representation at AECT 2014

The 2014 International Convention of the Association for Educational Communications & Technology was held in Jacksonville, Florida, this November. LT and STEM students Jolie Kennedy, Sonny Andzenge, Josh Ellis, Engin Karahan, and Tasneem Awar, along with LT instructor Angel Pazurek presented their scholarship among other...

Read More

LT teaching specialist Chuck McGill publishes in AMLE

Chuck McGill, LT teaching specialist, has an article in the November issue of the Association for Middle Level Education (AMLE) Magazine. McGill's article explores the advantages and disadvantages of cloud computing in education and gives advice on how to use the cloud for storage, creation,...

Read More