Northern Suburbs: Study Area Definition

The Northern Suburbs of the Twin Cities Metro

Inner Ring Suburbs to the Developing Edge

The northern suburbs include parts of Ramsey, Anoka, Chisago, Sherburne, and Isanti counties. The study area shown below is an approximation of the development on the northern edge of the Twin Cities metro area. Because of the ongoing development in the region, it is difficult to precisely define what is suburban and what is technically rural. The study area is roughly bounded by St. Paul and Minneapolis to the south, Interstate I35 to the east, Highway 95 to the north, and Highway 169 to the west. It is defined following city and township boundaries.